An Introduction…

Hi there, I thought the best way to start a new blog should be a proper introduction, so

screen-shot-2017-02-15-at-11-09-58
The most recent photo of me I could find.

here it is… I’m Becky. I come from a city called Lisburn, Northern Ireland but I’m currently studying Costume in Plymouth. My favourite hobbies are cooking, knitting and day dreaming.

 

 

I started this blog for a couple of reasons: 1) As I’m in the second year of my costume degree I would like to use this blog as a platform to get my name out there in the hopes that I can begin networking with like minded people; 2) I thought it might be fun to start logging my projects so I can look back on them more clearly and make changes to things that didn’t work so well; 3) I feel like I have an important message to help spread in terms of sustainability. One of my main goals for this blog is to help people see clothing differently, not now its presented on a shop rail, but in terms of the work that has gone into making it.

In the beginning…

I started sewing about 3 years ago when my sister and I had an ‘arty day’. She got out some fabric she had received as a gift and we made a circle skirt together. That’s when the sewing bug caught me. I finally began to realise the relation between flat shapes and how they become 3D. So I made a couple more skirts and dresses leading me to pick a degree in sewing towards the end of my High School years.

My degree so far…

Half way through my Costume degree and I am absolutely loving it! Don’t get me wrong, it’s really hard work, but after every project I am so proud with what I have done. The images below show some of  my favourite pieces I created in my first year of uni. All these pieces introduced a new level on intricacy and depth to my work that I never considered before. I’m intending on making an entirely separate post about my most recent university project as a more in depth and recent introduction to how I work as an artist and a seamstress.

A View to the Future…

Honestly I seem to want to do something different every 2 months so I’m allowing my self to continue through this experimental stage without stressing myself out too much. At the moment I seem to be leaning a bit more towards slow fashion and sustainable production and I’m really enjoying designing too so maybe something will come of that… I’ll most likely change ideas again in about a month!

 

Leave a Reply

